top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlisa

Sitcoms



They are not sophisticated or intellectual. They usually do not bring up stimulating philosophical debates. They are fun and mindless.


And I love them!


I let Netflix or Hulu run through a whole series of a sitcom as I pay bills or do dishes or any other mundane task. I love that I can half watch or even miss a whole episode if I get distracted on a phone call, walk out of the room and forget I left the TV running, and am not even a bit lost if I miss something. Each episode can stand alone even with the fun continuity of plot and characters. If you miss the Easter eggs, it is okay. There is still comedy and joy in it.


Even when a sitcom “jumps the shark,” I find familiar solace in those long running shows. Malcolm grows into an awkward high school student, Andy becomes the manager, and Elliot goes into private practice, and here I am, enjoying it all. Everybody consistently “HA-ates” Chris when all is said and done.


Of course, I partake in the dramas too. I revel is shows like “Breaking Bad”, “The Sopranos,” “Forensic Files” and “Attack on Titans.” They certainly have a big place in my heart, but sometimes, plain and simple, I do not want to think. A sitcom is to my brain as sleep is to my body. I get to rest and relax and rejuvenate. I suppose some of you are saying that I don’t need to have the TV on at all for that. You can meditate, listen to music, rest on the couch. All of that is true, but, just like simply having my dog resting at my feet, there is comfort in the clamor of familiar voices on the TV.


Sitcoms, at least to some degree, are usually very relatable to our every day lives. While very few of us have choice blue meth, run a mafia mob, fight Titans or become ordained a Dothraki Khaleesi; most of us have felt the sting of not being invited to a party. We have all felt those maddening emotions that come with dealing with an incompetent or cruel boss. From Ricky and Lucy to Sam and Diane to Will & Grace, most people can relate. That reassuring connection comes through for us.




Sometimes simpler and more commonplace is better. When Jerry says, “What’s the deal with brunch?” we realize the mundane is really what makes us laugh and brings us joy.








8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page